jump to navigation

Day 1: Huh, I did it. May 29, 2007

Posted by Joe in running.
trackback

Tuesday. I woke up at 6am, put on some shorts and my cheap, old, grass-stained trainers and jogged around the block. It is probably an average sized suburban block and I honestly expected to only make it half way before walking, but I made it all the way around. That feels good. Got back home, stretched and am now sitting here at my comp for a few minutes before showering.

I recently saw a man my age I haven’t seen in a year. He had dropped 55 pounds in 9 months and looked fantastic. Unrecognizable with the weight off and the shorter haircut. I talked to him about his experience and he said he started running around the block (and built on that as he could) and eating more sensibly. This past weekend he ran in his first marathon. Talk about a motivating discussion. He encouraged me to really give this a try – or some form of cardio I would enjoy – and stick to it. He said to run at my own pace and stick to it. Not rocket science, but I need to hear it.

Now I just need to be smart about what I eat today.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

