jump to navigation

Day 5: Weak-end June 2, 2007

Posted by Joe in goals, running.
trackback

Saturday. Got up at 6:30am and went for a run. Around the block again under 4 minutes. Slow and steady. At this point I am fairly confident when I start out that I can jog around the block without stopping, and I am eager to add another block to the run next week. I have no hope of completing that run without walking for part of it, but if I don’t push myself I will never make progress. I am hoping that by the end of next week I can make it all the way uninterrupted.

It’s the weekend and I have to say that after starting on this new path I can really see how weak I am. It’s not surprising, but it is frustrating. I want to do more than I am, but do not have the ability. I used to jump rope and hit the heavy bag – and really enjoyed that. I still have the equipment and am thinking about incorporating some boxing routines into my morning exercises. But, one thing at a time. Another week of running and expand the distance.

Though it has only been a few days I feel good – better. I guess at this point it may be more mental than physical, but feeling good is definitely a motivator to keep going.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

