jump to navigation

Day 16: Creating Something. June 13, 2007

Posted by Joe in goals, running.
trackback

Wednesday. It’s hard for me to not be surprised. When I make progress it happens quicker than I thought, and when I hit a wall – that comes when I do not expect it. Today I ran a full mile without walking for even a second. This is huge for me since I am about 40 lbs overweight and have not consistently exercised in years until 16 days ago. I feel very good, encouraged, excited. This really makes me want to be even more careful with my diet since I can measure my growth in running – if not in my weight. It’s like I am creating something here. Slowly, but surely.

Comments»

1. rafael00 - June 14, 2007

Hey, congratulations. As someone who’s been running for a long time, and still has his own challenges, I tip my hat to you. Running is a metaphor for life. Hmmm…that sounds like a good posting waiting to be written. In any case…keep pushing forth, don’t give up, and if you do, don’t be too hard on yourself, but instead start up again. Just make sure that on the last day of your life you ran, and you will have earned the right to call yourself a runner. How far you ran during your lifetime wont matter. What will matter is that you chose action to inaction.


Leave a Reply

