jump to navigation

Day 36: Dead Legs. July 3, 2007

Posted by Joe in food/fuel, learning.
trackback

Tuesday. Up at 6am, ate some oatmeal, stretched, went out for a run and… very little juice. I probably wound up walking a mile and running a mile. I am less discouraged and more frustrated. I already know that we need fuel to run, and that running in the morning comes just after an 8-10 hour fast. Therefore I have to eat if I want to run. I also know that every runner’s body responds differently to different foods. So, at day 36 I am still figuring out what works best for my body. Based on my reading it looks like I am not getting enough carbs for my pre-run meal. Though my mind and heart want to run in the early AM, I have seen that evenings runs always go better for me. This is either because I have more fuel, or my body just works better then. I will probably try this run again tonight.

“With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable.”
Sir Thomas Foxwell Buxton, British abolitionist
– From Runner’s World: Daily Kick in the Butt

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

