jump to navigation

Day 37: Knowledge as Motivation. July 4, 2007

Posted by Joe in learning, personal.
trackback

Wednesday. Resting, no running.

I have found that growing in my knowledge of any discipline encourages participation. This has certainly proved to be true in running. Were I simply to run without growing in my knowledge I would cool off in motivation via ignorance, frustration, or boredom. Why is my knee clicking? Why am I running out of energy? How can I improve? Who has the best advice? What shoes will work best for me and why? How long is a 5K, 10K, half marathon, and a marathon? How do we prepare for such races? Whose stories are most inspirational to me? The answers to questions like these become mental fuel for running as they dispel ignorance and provide confidence. So I have found real value in magazines like Runners World, the online community, and of course my local running store.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

