jump to navigation

Day 42. Regression? July 9, 2007

Posted by Joe in goals, running.
trackback

Monday. 2 Miles. It’s my day off, so I can run in the morning on Mondays. I was a little frustrated this morning because I feel like I regressed a bit. I ran two miles, but had to take a couple of 60 second walk breaks. That brought my time to 20 minutes even (My wife bought me a watch to wear on my runs, she’s so awesome!). I know that runners have bad days, and I am not discouraged. ‘Just hungry to make progress. My goal for this week is to own the two mile course in my neighborhood. By the end of the week I want to run it without stopping. Is that possible? I am starting to believe most things are.

Comments»

1. Steve McCoy - July 9, 2007

What is causing you to stop for 60 second breaks? Just need to catch your wind? Or is it something else?

2. Red - July 9, 2007

I find doing intervals that are longer than my goal help a lot to build my endurance. For example in your case if you want to run 2 miles non-stop, try doing 3 miles in 1/2 mile intervals with 30 seconds rest breaks… next thing you know you will have busted the time you planned on running non-stop with ease. I also don’t know how long you’ve been running, but when I started with the Couch to 5K program I walked out the rest of an hour just to build up some additional stamina. So if your regular run is 2 miles and takes you 20 minutes or so continue on walking for the next 40 minutes. Hope that helps you some, keep it up and it will come.

3. Joe - July 9, 2007

Thanks red, and thanks Steve for your help today while hanging out!

4. Steve McCoy - July 10, 2007

Red, I gave Joe almost the same advice. Well said.


Leave a Reply

