jump to navigation

Day 47: Running. July 14, 2007

Posted by Joe in personal, running.
trackback

Saturday. The family got up early, and ate breakfast together. I went for my 2 mile run after a half-mile warm up and it felt great! I almost can’t believe I am running 2 miles now, but do believe I will be running 3 soon enough.

Since I started 47 days ago I have “run” into the issue of running vs. jogging. Discussions on the RW boards, those Pearl Izumi ads, and most recently a very charitable post I read this morning at the Runner’s Lounge. I have managed to keep this issue pretty simple for myself, and have, from the beginning, humbly considered myself a “runner.” In my mind – runners run. It can’t be about pace or distance. It can’t be about races completed. Is there a difference between jogging and running? Perhaps, but I really don’t care. It is subjective, but I consider myself a runner because I am (1) running (2) outdoors and am (3) pushing myself. That may not look like much compared to many other runners, but this is something I love about running – I am not competing with them. I am running against myself. More on that particular concept later.

Comments»

1. Amy - July 14, 2007

Every new runner goes through the cycle of wondering when they have arrived as a runner. I spent years pondering the question. Even after a marathon, many 1/2 Marathons and I swear 1000 miles and 100 pair of shoes, I was still hesitant. I look back now and realize that I was a runner from the first day I told myself that I wanted to go for a run.

I can hear the passion and persistence in your posts. Through words alone – I can tell you have been a runner for a long time.

Good luck with your running! When I started, I added a telephone pole distance each time I ran. I took a while to get to 2 and 3 miles but then one day, I said “what the heck” and just ran longer. I have a feeling you will find 3 miles easier than getting to 2.

2. Joe - July 14, 2007

That would be great Amy. I am eager to get to my first 5K race this Fall.

3. Runchilde - July 15, 2007

yay! love amy’s words of wisdom. i have totally fallen off the wagon, but am not giving up! you are such an inspiration joe!

4. Joe - July 15, 2007

Last I read you were getting ready to travel, which can derail anyone. Get back on it!


Leave a Reply

