jump to navigation

More Books July 16, 2007

Posted by Joe in learning.
trackback

I picked up Dean Karnazes’ Ultra Marathon Man on Friday and finished it last night. Though I have no aspirations or even interest in running 50, 100 or 200 mile marathons the book was a good read and very encouraging. Reading about what I would call Dean’s running redemption, his desire to push himself as hard as possible to see just how far he could go, and how he came to deal with pain is helpful for all runners – especially new runner’s like me. If you haven’t read this yet and are looking for more motivation check it out.

Pain is the body’s way of ridding itself of weakness.
(pg. 129)

Runners are real people. They don’t run for money or recognition, they do it out of passion. Most have day jobs that pay the bills, and running is a labor of love.
(pg. 208)

After getting some advice from Tom at the Runners’ Lounge blog I picked up a few more books to start reading today: Joe Henderson’s Running 101: Essentials for Success, Amby Burfoot’s Complete Book of Running and Bob Glover’s The New Competitive Runner’s Handbook. Of course, Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows comes out later this week, so all other reading will be put on hold while I devour that!

Comments»

1. Mark Grapengater - July 16, 2007

Joe,

Umm. I think you have undiagnosed OCD. I mean, I do the same thing– sucking up as much information on an interest as I possibly can.

I hope you enjoy running for a long time. It’s helped me to get outside when there is no elevation to bike.

Give me a shout sometime when you head into the Chi. We’ll have to go shoot.

2. Joe - July 16, 2007

I am planning on coming in to shoot some of the bridges soon. I’ll let you know.


Leave a Reply

