jump to navigation

Day 54: Consistent Improvement. July 20, 2007

Posted by Joe in log, running.
trackback

Friday. Man, I love running! I got out this afternoon and ran another 3.1 miles in Geneva. It was my best run yet. A better time (37:15) and I felt great. The first mile is always the toughest for me, but the rest felt very good. Temps in the upper 70’s and a cool breeze made the run pretty comfortable. And no dogs!

Being able to remain consistent with 3 mile runs and not going back to a shorter distance is very encouraging. I am eager to improve my time and increase distance, but slow and steady has served me well for 54 days.

Comments»

1. Steve McCoy - July 20, 2007

Heyo. Nice. First mile is always the toughest for me too.

2. Amy - July 21, 2007

Yeah! Don’t you love those days! 54 days is very impressive short time for being at a comfortable 3 miles.

3. Joe - July 21, 2007

Thanks guys. Amy, “comfortable” may, or may not, be the right term for me to be using. I run without stopping, and feel pretty good throughout. I am tired after, but excited as well.

4. Nancy - July 21, 2007

hello, Learning…I’m also learning! If you can do 3 miles non-stop, you have come a long way. I’ve been trying to get consistent for a long time. Every time I would get to 3 or 4, I would let something get in the way and pretty soon be back to square one. Not this time!! I did 7 today for the first time in life!! What a rush. Keep up the great work.

5. Joe - July 21, 2007

Thanks Nancy – and call me Joe. Wow, 7 miles? Huge congrats! Stay at it.


Leave a Reply

