jump to navigation

Day 60: 2 Months. July 26, 2007

Posted by Joe in log, personal, running.
trackback

Thursday. 3.6 miles. Yesterday two of my friends were married, and as their pastor I had the privilege of “officiating.” We don’t wear coats and ties at our church, but for weddings (and funerals) we get dressed up, so I had my black suit on. The shoes that go with it were modeled after a 14th century torture device, and after wearing them I was limping – cuts on the back of my Achilles tendons. I was afraid this would kill my running today, but my running shoes didn’t aggravate the abrasions at all, and I beat yesterdays distance with a solid 3.6 miles. This run was a bit harder because a) I don’t think I was hydrated enough, b) it was very humid and c) I am used to giving my legs a days rest in between most runs.

I have now been running consistently for 60 days 4 to 5 days a week. I began running around the block carrying 180 lbs on my 5′ 5″ frame. Today I am regularly running 3+ miles and am weighing in at 168/169 lbs. I am keeping track of these stats on the “Becoming” page linked above.

Comments»

1. Amy - July 27, 2007

Wow – fantastic results! I check in everyday for a bit of inspiration about your commitment.

2. Joe - July 27, 2007

Thanks for the encouragement Amy.


Leave a Reply

