jump to navigation

Water Waste July 27, 2007

Posted by Joe in diet, hydration, learning.
trackback

I drink a lot of water these days. I didn’t know it when I began this journey, but water plays a huge role in my health and my running. The benefits of drinking water are many,

It nourishes the cells; carries food throughout the body; eliminates waste; regulates body temperature; cushions and lubricates the joints; and maintains blood volume and blood pressure. Inadequate levels of fluid consumption have been associated with kidney stones, and higher rates of: urinary tract infections; bladder and colorectal cancers; and even heart disease in one or two studies.
– Amby Burfoot, Drink to Your Health

To simplify and boil this down to the most relevant level – water helps me feel better while running better. I don’t enjoy drinking water out of a glass. Not sure why. So Jen and I have been stocking up on cases of bottled water from a big box store, and there are these empty water bottles always lying around – in the car, in my study, on the night-stand, etc.

Then I recently began reading about the bottled water industry, the unnecessary accumulation of waste from bottled water, and the ridiculous cost of it all. There is a great article at FastCompany.com called, “Message in a Bottle” which explains that Americans spent $15 billion on bottled water last year, about a quarter of which is tap water bottled by Coke and Pepsi. We bottled water drinkers in the US emptied around 50 billion water bottles last year, 38 billion of which made their way into landfills. In light of all this I went out today and bought…

hydrate or die

Yeah baby. A 750ml Camelbak water bottle. It’s black, says Hydrate or Die, doesn’t spill and I can refill it just about anywhere I am. No waste. What’s not to love? It’s perfect for carrying around during the day.

Comments»

1. Raymond - September 20, 2007

Plus, you know that bottled water is, for most companies, exactly the same as tap water? In fact, municipal drinking water standards are so high that sometimes tap water is cleaner than bottled water.

2. Joe - September 20, 2007

Yeah, there is finally a growing awareness of it.

3. Dan Barnett - September 20, 2007

I wish they would come to Harvard, IL and grow an awareness here. If bottled water is the same as my tap, YUCK!


Leave a Reply

