jump to navigation

Day 64: Thumbs. July 30, 2007

Posted by Joe in running.
trackback

Monday. I ran 3.2 miles this morning around part of the university, and think I felt the effects of not having hydrated enough. It was a bit harder today. Or maybe it was just because my pace was a bit faster. Or maybe it was psychological – what do I know? I don’t even know what to do with my thumbs when I run. Seriously.

fonzI don’t think about it on most runs, but everyone once in a while I notice my hands and am not sure what to do. I mean, I have read enough beginner’s books and articles to know not to make a balled up fist, without letting my hands flop around. Loose, but controlled right? I get that much. My problem has nothing to do with running, and everything to do with ego.  If I don’t lightly press my thumbs to the sides of my index fingers, I feel like I’m giving everyone the “thumbs-up” sign. I know – what could be cooler than running around town giving everyone a happy thumbs-up? Let’s just say I’m not cool enough to pull off Fonzie’s move. But pressing them down doesn’t feel/look right either. What great problems I have.

Comments»

1. Brad - July 30, 2007

I noticed I did this all of the time when I first started running. I now hold water bottles most of the time, so it’s not really an issue.

2. Joe - July 30, 2007

Aha! That’s a good idea, especially now that I will be moving up to 4 mile runs this week.

3. Running Ragged - July 30, 2007

lol…next time I run a long run I’ll be thinking of Fonzie. 🙂

During the short runs I have a water/gatorade bottle in one hand and my mp3 player in the other…works well for me…during the long runs I wear my belt leaving my thumbs free to roam, but thinking about it now, I am not sure what they do!

4. Amy - July 30, 2007

A while ago there was an article in Runners’ World that had a picture of a runner and pointed out key things about form. I remember that for the thumb/hand was to pretend to hold a potato chip between my thumb and index finger. Can’t tell you a single other tip from that article, but I can remember most things when tied to chips.

5. Joe - July 30, 2007

Mmmm. Chips. Yeah, that’s what I do when I’m thinking about. Otherwise it’s Happy Days.

6. Brian - July 31, 2007

Haha, great post. I always look at that as well and wonder how I should have my thumbs. I even try different forms while running… I always revert to the fist though, and I know I probably shouldn’t. That just feels most comfortable!

Speaking about hydration, I just ran a marathon on Sunday and completely messed up my hydration. Calves seized and I was screwed. So I understand the feeling entirely.


Leave a Reply

