jump to navigation

Day 80: Idiot. August 15, 2007

Posted by Joe in funny, running.
trackback

Wednesday. 4 Miles in ??:?? The morning was overcast and cool. Very nice for running. I mapped out a 4 mile course and headed out. The first mile was sprinkled with light rain, but quckly cleared up. As I was nearing the first mile marker I glanced at my stopwatch and was shocked to see 8:33! I thought, “I’m going to hit mile 1 in under 10 minutes!” So I stayed on pace and when I hit the first mile I checked again at my watch said… 8:35? Ugh. I forgot to use my stopwatch and was simply reading the actual time. Idiot. So I have no idea what I ran the 4 miles in, but it felt pretty good. I am always a bit uncertain about adding distance. This is only the second time I have run 4 miles, but it looks like this is something I can do. Very encouraging!

Comments»

1. Amy - August 15, 2007

Way to go on another 4 miler! See, a week off and you are better than ever.

2. coachjoeenglish - August 15, 2007

Keep up the good work.

Don’t worry about forgetting the watch. Sometimes it’s good to leave the watch at home and just run the distance. Being too concerned with the time can be unhealthy. I try to leave the watch at home at least once or twice a week. This gives me some runs with time data and others when I’m free to run at whatever pace feels comfortable – maybe fast, maybe slow.

Check out my blog if you have questions about running – and feel free to post questions and comments there for me to answer.

Coach Joe
coachjoeenglish.wordpress.com

3. Joe - August 15, 2007

Thanks Amy. And thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog Joe. I appreciate the advice – it sounds good to me.

4. kate - August 15, 2007

That’s pretty funny! I’ve done the same thing too and you just have to laugh at it!

5. Running Ragged - August 15, 2007

I found myself laughing when I read that. I have done that before too.

Another 4 miler…awesome! šŸ™‚

6. jason - August 16, 2007

Congrats Joe on the four miles!!! The time things happens to all of us. I did the a similar thing when I thought I had hit the start button on my watch when, in fact, I didn’t. Oh well.

7. Joe - August 16, 2007

Thanks for laughing with me guys.

8. Runnin’ Ragged 11 miles @ home (11:27) « - August 18, 2007

[…] hadn’t ‘moved’ since I messed with it last in the beginning. I had to think about Joe and got a good chuckle out of it! lol The Garmin shows me what time I started and I checked the […]

9. Nancy - August 20, 2007

I have plenty of idiot stories too. One time, I apparently ran a mile in 2:36 !! This week, I was scrathing my back and I hear a little ‘beep” – I have inadvertantly hit the LAP button. Also running in the dark once and didn’t know Garmin had a light. So many lessons, so little time… šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

