jump to navigation

Day 81: Socks! August 16, 2007

Posted by Joe in gear, learning, log.
trackback

Thursday. 3.1 miles in 33:57 (10:58 pace). This is good for me, and the run felt good.

Earlier this week I switched to tech clothes and really noticed the difference, but have not felt the need to get good running socks. My short, cotton, whites have been treating me fine – until yesterday’s 4 miler. The beginnings of a blister appeared on my foot afterward. So today I stopped by Dick Pond and chatted with them about running socks. They only had the high-end $10 a pair brand in stock, so I went somewhere else and picked up some less expensive Nike’s. Anyway – man I felt the difference as soon as I began running this afternoon. This really surprised me.

Comments»

1. Randy M - August 16, 2007

from a very noobie runner to you …. how does the running clothes make a difference?

2. Amy - August 16, 2007

I am not a newbie with clothes, but I am cheap. It had been a while since I bought any running clothes and so I went out and bought some new tech tops and skirts. I have to agree with you – when you are cooler, you just feel better and run better.

3. Joe - August 16, 2007

Randy, I am a noob as well. The essential part of tech clothes is that they are not cotton, they wick away moisture from your body and keep you cool in the summer (warm in the winter). I have been running in cotton tees until this week, and they get soaked with sweat, the shirt clings to my body and sags. The tech shirts simply feel better. The tech socks are also amazing. I am shocked at the difference they made today. But I will need a lot of advice when the colder climate hits. I am clueless as to what to wear.

4. Randy M - August 16, 2007

would you say you would need to wash these regularly or could you get away with wearing them more often? (I know … total guy question!)

5. Joe - August 16, 2007

You’d have to wash the shirt after each run, but you could probably wash the shorts after a couple wears. I do. 🙂

6. Running Ragged - August 17, 2007

I switched to tech clothes last year and you won’t ever find me running in cotton again. Whenever I meet a milestone or have accomplished something I find worth celebrating I get myself a new shirt, shorts or some socks (once ever 3 months or so).

Come winter time you will learn about layers. 🙂

7. Brian - August 17, 2007

Socks! I still run in cotton shits when training, but where wicker shorts and shirts for all events. I never would have guessed socks would make that much of a difference. I still where the cotton socks, although I do have a pair of tri socks that I where during events. Perhaps I will have to venture out and find myself some running socks and see how much of a difference those make…

8. jason - August 18, 2007

Joe, you might want to invest in something called Bodyglide. I spread it on my toes before my long runs to prevent blisters and it works great. It is also used for…ahem….nipple problems (caused from rubbing). If you are planning for a longer runs, you’ll definitely need it.

9. Joe - August 18, 2007

Thanks for the advice Jason! I just picked up Bodyglide this week. I only get chaffing in one spot on my upper thighs. I have heard of it being used on feet as well, but so far I have not had any issued. But I’m only now at 4mile runs – so I’m waiting…

10. lifestudent - August 22, 2007

I gotta say, I love the tech clothes. They really do make a difference. And I am addicted to the socks, I think I pick up a pair every time I am in a fitness-related store. I think I might switch to them permantly 😉 Its it all in my mind, I dont know … but shopping for running gear is way more fun than doing the actual running!

11. Joe - August 22, 2007

As much as I dig the shopping, I have to say I love running the most. It has become one of the things I most look forward to.


Leave a Reply

