jump to navigation

Day 90: Becoming. August 25, 2007

Posted by Joe in goals, PRs, weight loss.
trackback

Saturday. 5.08 Miles! Wow. This is so encouraging! Once again I forgot to hit the timer on my watch, but I really don’t care. This makes another PR for distance. The run was really good. I had mapped out a four mile run with an option extra mile loop at the end. As I got to the end of the four miles I knew I could keep going.

At 90 days into running my weight is down 16 lbs to a solid 164 lbs. I have come in at 163 a few times, but just recently and not consistently, so I’m not yet counting that as my official weight yet. I was hoping to have lost 20 lbs by this time, but slow and steady wins the race, right? I am very excited at my progress in both running and losing weight. A good day!

Comments»

1. Dan Barnett - August 25, 2007

Adding around 3 miles in 3 months is awesome. The time is irrelevant. I ran all through highschool, and I only reached 5 miles once. Right now I’m at 2.5, but hope to get 4 by October. Very encouraging Joe.

2. Timmy Brister - August 25, 2007

Congrats Joe! This is very cool.

So do you have plans on running a 10k in the future?

3. Joe - August 25, 2007

I have a 5k coming up, will then look for a 10k, next year I want to do a half marathon, and then some time after that a full marathon. We’ll see though. 😉

4. Nick - August 25, 2007

wow, that’s great joe!

I started running Sunday. I have been trying to lose weight for about 8 weeks now, but am just now really trying to kick in the exercise. I’m 22 pounds down, as of this past monday. but Sunday I started running (and walking). Sun-Wed I did ~ 1.5 mi per day, running what I could then walking until I was ready to run again. Of course I need to lose another 70 pounds or so.

I’ll have to read back through your entries to see what you observed in the earlier days!

5. Joe - August 25, 2007

That’s awesome Nick! Are you going to keep track via a running blog?

6. Dan Barnett - August 25, 2007

Have you done any trail running yet, or is it strictly roads? I find trails help to keep a faster pace without feeling the fatigue, as you’re focused more on the twists, turns, and changing terrain.

7. jason - August 26, 2007

Congrats on the run!!! In a short time, five miles will feel like a breeze too 🙂

8. Joe - August 26, 2007

Thanks guys. Dan, It depends on what you mean by “trail running.” If you mean the paved bike path – it’s not for me. If you mean actual wooded trails, I do not think that would be faster especially since the terrain changes so much and you have to pay close attention to your footing or risk injury. Either way, I prefer to run along streets and through neighborhoods.

9. Dan Barnett - August 26, 2007

Yeah, the bike path sucks. I enjoy wooded trails, just because it seems to be a more enjoyable run.

10. Nick - August 26, 2007

Joe,

No, I didn’t realize running blogs were en vogue until I found the blogs of you and Steve. 🙂

So far I have been posting updates on my ‘Fitness Challenge’ on my normal, personal blog. I’m not sure I have readership to drive away by posting about this different content.


Leave a Reply

