jump to navigation

Day 99: Hard. September 3, 2007

Posted by Joe in frustration, personal.
trackback

Monday. 3.1 miles in 31:32. Days like today I am just happy to be able to run a 5k at all. It was just hard. Hard to maintain the pace I wanted. Hard to get enough air. Hard to not quit at mile 1 and mile 2. Needless to say I did not make my goal of running 3.1 in under 30 minutes. The upside is that with a day like this, as hard as it was, I did not stop running and my time was still decent for me! Forcing myself through a difficult run is good for me, and I believe my next run will feel better.

Comments»

1. Angela - September 3, 2007

Those 5k runs are pretty tough when you’re going for it. Good on you for keeping at it though, some days you just don’t feel like running.

2. Amy - September 3, 2007

With your long runs over 4 and 5 miles, 3 miles is going to seem like a walk to the mailbox soon.

3. Running Ragged - September 3, 2007

That is a great attitude! You’ll get it next time and if not then it will be the time after that for sure! 🙂

4. Dan Barnett - September 3, 2007

Great attitude, yeah. Don’t fret it. It’s natural after an uncommon run(5mile) to slack on your next couple of runs. Just keep running, and in a few runs, you’ll be surprised how low your time drops. Thanks for the links. I’m using runningahead.com now. I’m just getting it set up, but the course mapping is awesome.


Leave a Reply

