jump to navigation

Day 113: Weight Loss. September 17, 2007

Posted by Joe in weight loss.
trackback

Monday. 3.1 miles in 31:45. That’s good for me, but not my best. I am enjoying the temps but disliking all the wind. I better get used to it.

I call this blog “Learning to Run” because that is what I am doing. I am learning to run through trial and error, and the counsel of others who have been running for some time. I thought I would go ahead and begin to share what I am learning in my own experience of running. Today – weight loss.

Of course, I am not a doctor, and this is not a prescription for anyone else. It is simply what I have done and what has happened as a result.

My plan for losing the extra 40lbs I was carrying on my 5′ 5″ hobbit like frame was simple. Cut calories, don’t eat late at night, and run often. That’s it. I followed the basic program from the Runner’s Diet in Runner’s World, figuring out how many calories I need every day to maintain my current weight, and then cutting at least 500 off the top. In my case, I allowed myself 1600 calories a day. So far I have lost over 20 lbs and the weight is now coming off a bit quicker (since I am runner longer distances and times).

While I stay within my calorie guidelines, I do allow myself the food I want. The portions may be smaller, or those treats may be less often, but I eat what I want. Like the other day the fam was going to have Thai food. So I had a small breakfast and lunch and had what I wanted for our dinner. While losing half of my extra weight I have had hot dogs/chili dogs, italian beef, pizza, Thai food, etc. I don’t get such food every day, but often enough to keep me satisfied, and typically after I have proven myself (to myself) through temperate eating and consistent running. Of course, the reality is that my eating in general is very different than it used to be.

Calorie watching. I really do this. The good news is that many restaurants and most foods out there can be looked up online. Places like Taco Bell allow you to plug in the exact details of your order and it calculates the total calories. For me, I like the Steak Taco, no lime sauce. Counting calories was a hassle at first, but it quickly became a part of how I decide what I am going to eat. Everything is counted (unless impossible, then I guesstimate).

No eating late. This was only possible for me to do by going to bed early, which is only possible for me to do by bringing a book to read. No book = no early bedtime = late night eating.

Different snacking rules. I am only allowed “X” calories a day, that includes snacking. Two things became my friends in the snack area. Those small, thin stick pretzels really satisfy my desire for something salty. I don’t grab the whole bag, just one serving – yep, I count ’em out. And 2 or 3 dark chocolate covered espresso beans take care of the random sugar or chocolate craving.

I guess what I am learning is that temperance is the key for me. C.S. Lewis explained,

Temperance is, unfortunately, one of those words that has changed its meaning. It now usually means teetotalismā€¦ [In the past,] temperance referred not specially to drink, but to all pleasures; and it meant not abstaining, but going the right length and no further.

Comments»

1. Brian - September 18, 2007

I’m with you on this one and agree with how you have handled your weight loss. Since I started running last year I’ve lost 35 pounds simply from eating less and running more, just as you said. I chuckled when I read you count out the pretzels. I do the same. I’ll eat chips and count to 15 and stop. Or roasted peanutes I’ll eat 36 of them and then stop. Was a little weird at first, but I’ve come to accept and apply calorie counting to my everyday life. I count it all up and put it into excel that way I have a visual and see where I am going wrong.

Anyway, keep up the good work. Feels great, doesn’t it?

2. Amy - September 18, 2007

You make it sound so easy, darn it. You are so right, and I know you are, but control is so hard for me. I really like eating ALOT of cookies. Good reminder to me that it works and it can be done. Great job Joe!

3. Brad Williams - September 18, 2007

I’ve lost 20 lbs. since January, and I’m pretty much at my “ideal” weight now. Lately, I’ve had trouble getting to my run. We’re building a couple of habitat for humanity houses, and at the end of the day I’m pooped. I hope I don’t become a slug.

4. Weight Reduction Coach - September 25, 2007

Great job. I am definitely a fan of watching my calories. It’s helping keep any extra weight off. I’m feeling great. Good luck!

5. Day 113: Weight Loss. | Good Health And Wellness - September 26, 2007

[…] Kell Brigan wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI am learning to run through trial and error, and the counsel of others who have been running for some time. I thought I would go ahead and begin to share what I am learning in my own experience of running. Today – weight loss. … […]


Leave a Reply

