jump to navigation

Day 134: Question for the Experienced. October 8, 2007

Posted by Joe in personal, weird.
trackback

Monday. 5 miles. Hot and windy. What a lovely combo. Anyway, I am thinking of upping my distance, making the 5 mile run my short run. I am feeling good at 5 miles – no pain – and I think I could run 6 for my long run.

I have a question for anyone who might know. After a 5 mile run there seems to be a chemical smell – but not from my body or clothes. It’s like something going on in my nose. So is it my sweat and am I confused? Am I having a a stroke? Anyone have any ideas?

Comments»

1. Brian - October 8, 2007

Thats a good one. I’ve never had this happen to me. Perhaps you are breathing harder through your nose and it is kicking something loose? Sweat, like you said? I shall have to stay tuned to see what everyone else things. Interesting…

2. Nick P. - October 8, 2007

As your muscles exert more energy, oxygen needs increase. In addition to the muscles receiving the extra oxygen, however, other tissue types receive the extra oxygen as well. With this surplus, the potassium pumps of the cells have to work harder, thus breaking more potassium-chloride bonds.

When this happens in nasal membrane tissue, you are able to detect its scent.

Actually, I have absolutely no idea, but I thought I would give a smart-sounding answer.

I’m just glad I’m still breathing if I smell anything at the end of my run. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Brad Williams - October 9, 2007

Nick,

You totally had me going.

4. Dan Barnett - October 9, 2007

Nick, not cool! ๐Ÿ™‚ here I was seriously trusting. I do think he’s close on the oxyen, Joe. Push throught it and itll go away. It actually happened to me yesterday. like cramps and short breath, it goes away.

5. Running Ragged - October 9, 2007

And there I thought I was learning something. lol…good one Nick!

I haven’t had that happening to me, at least not that I am aware of. I noticed though that after running my senses, such as smell, are more keen, but I have no idea where the chemical smell would come from.

Should I not get a chance beforehand I wanted to wish you good luck on your race this weekend! Go get ’em!


Leave a Reply

