jump to navigation

Day 148: Body Response October 22, 2007

Posted by Joe in learning.
trackback

Monday. 5.1 miles in 54:05. It was a bit cold this morning. 50° when I ran, and I wasn’t “feeling it.” I wanted to call it quits as soon as I started. But I continued and ran the whole thing. By the end of the first mile I was feeling it and am glad I continued. I didn’t worry about pace, just ran. It turned out to be a very enjoyable, if slower run.

One of the things I have learned in the past 148 days is that the body adapts to change much better than I anticipated. Being over 40 lbs overweight when I began, I honestly thought I would wind up trashing my feet (I am severely flat-footed) and knees. But me feet have never felt better and I have experienced no problems with my joints. It’s a common question I get these days. “Isn’t running hard on the knees?” I explain what I’ve read – high impact exercise strengthens joints if done properly, improper running creates problems and leads to injuries. But I mostly share my own experience – I read a lot, took it slow and steady, and have had no problems. And this is coming from a guy who wasn’t an athlete back in high school or college. There was nothing to fall back on in terms of experience or expectations. I feel like I genuinely started with nothing and the body has responded amazingly.

Comments»

1. Running Ragged - October 22, 2007

Sometimes the runs that feel not right in the beginning turn into the best ones when you stick it out. Good for you to hang in there. Not all runs can be PRs, even thought it would be great if that was the case.

2. Amy - October 22, 2007

Day 148….wow….where does time go. If you get past the first 10 minutes, it is always worth it.


Leave a Reply

