jump to navigation

Day 163: I’m a believer. November 6, 2007

Posted by Joe in cold, PRs.
trackback

Tuesday. 7.3 miles in 1:22:38. Man, I wanted to turn around and come home at the 2.5 mile mark, but I pressed on and am glad I did. The cooler temps are great, but the wind has been brutal, and I will be dealing with it all winter. Yet, I am determined and even optimistic about my winter running experience. All this running is turning me into a believer! Like, “Yeah, I can do that!” Just today on the last mile I was thinking, I am sure I could tack on another mile at the end if I chose to. 163 days and things are very different from when I began. What I can do is the most encouraging aspect of it all. 5 miles is now my short run?! And physically things continue to quickly change. I have already gone from a 36″ waist to a 31″. I am beginning to see what’s possible with me. Pretty cool. Especially since I have a long way to go.

Comments»

1. Christian - November 7, 2007

Joe this is soooooo encouraging – well done. I’m stuck at 1 mile – no matter what I do it just seems like I can’t run further. I think its a mental thing rather than a physical one – working out the mental and emotional strategy of not stopping.

2. Joe - November 7, 2007

Yeah man, the mental thing is always the toughest for me. How long have you been running one mile? How have you tried to go beyond it?

3. Running Ragged - November 7, 2007

Wow, from around the block to 7.3 miles…isn’t it amazing what you can do when you put your mind to it. Keep up the awesome work!

4. topher - November 7, 2007

Joe, nice blog. You’ve got one good looking blog header, too; I’m a graphic designer, so I look at things like that. I can totally relate to where you’ve come from and where you’ve found yourself. I, too, started out to shed 30 pounds or so, and now I’m hooked. It doesn’t mean I hate dragging my toosh out of bed most mornings, but when I’m coming down the home stretch I find myself wishing I had time to go just another couple of miles.

5. Joe - November 7, 2007

Thanks guys. And I appreciate the comment on the header. I am not a graphic design guy, but I had this idea in my head and was able to pull it off pretty close to how I imagined it.

Oh, and I too am a man who loves a good donut. Or three. 🙂

6. Christian - November 8, 2007

Hi Joe. Been running for 7 weeks with a couple of weeks off in the middle when I was sick (man-flu!). Also, in the same time frame, I’ve been dieting and lost 12lb.

They say the “first mile” and the “first s 10mins” are the hardest and that’s where I’m stuck. It feels like the trick is about just defering that urge to stop – just run another min and then see where I am … keep doing that.

7. Joe - November 8, 2007

Christian, yeah the first mile is still the hardest for me. Thoughts of quitting always surface during that time. I blogged back in July on how I try to keep going, How to Not Quit


Leave a Reply

