jump to navigation

Conquering the Cold November 8, 2007

Posted by Joe in running.
trackback

winterrunsmall

Not the common cold, but the cold temperatures many of us will face this winter. Since I am so new to running I have had a lot of questions. How should I dress? How long should I run? What do I need to watch out for? Can my lungs really freeze? Is it ever too cold to get out there? I have read a number of articles on winter running this week, and though it’s early, I thought I would share the two most helpful I have come across so far. I am guessing RW’s January issue will have loads of advice. So until that comes out, if you are like me and need advice, these two articles are great.

Winter Advisory
by Melanie Radzicki McManus

Cold Comfort
Warren Greene

Photo by jmwoolny

Comments»

1. Amy - November 8, 2007

It definitely takes some practice and experience to find the right combination for you. It took me a few winters but I found the perfect windbreaker that seems to take me through all the winter crap. It seems like just yesterday we were complaining about the heat.

2. erik raymond - November 9, 2007

Thanks for these articles Joe. In years past I would chicken out in the cold and run inside (it is never as good for me). This year I am aiming to make some changes and these articles are helpful.

thanks again. And your commitment/progress/excitement is encouraging keep it up!

3. Topher - November 9, 2007

I agree; great articles. The first one, though, made me think “ah, forget that! I’ll just treadmill it until Spring”. And then there’s the cost of all that gear. Target actually has some decent quality stuff that’s quite a bit cheaper than the running store stuff.

A co-worker/runner told me that your body burns more fat running in the cold due to the body trying to stay warm. Not sure if it’s true, but I’ll try anything if it means getting rid of some “insulation”.

4. Joe - November 9, 2007

Topher, Yeah – I am a fan of Champion’s C9 clothing at Target. In fact, I’m decked out in it right now as I head out for my run.

And I think that’s a myth – burning more calories in winter. See this link.


Leave a Reply

