jump to navigation

8 on the 8th December 8, 2007

Posted by Joe in 8 miles.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

8 on the 8th. Today is the 8 on the 8th Virtual Race created by Nancy. I ran 8 miles this afternoon in 1:25:46. It was 18° and I ran a new route that took me through NIU’s campus, downtown DeKalb, some quiet neighborhoods and some busy streets. Map here. 2/3 of my run was on sidewalks which were typically covered in ice or hard, choppy snow. Sometimes both. This forced me to run much more carefully (slowly) than normal. Even so, I really enjoyed the run. The cold isn’t a problem, especially once I’m warmed up. I knew the conditions would slow me down, so I didn’t have high expectations. I wanted to run without stopping, without twisting my ankle or slipping on the ice. And I wanted to have fun. Mission accomplished.

Comments»

1. jason - December 8, 2007

Congrats man. Good job. Running on snow and ice stinks, but you always feel pretty cool afterwards. I have these things called Yaktraks that give your feet some grip in the ice and snow in case you’re interested.

2. Topher - December 8, 2007

Awesome for you, Joe! I really wanted to run outside today, but after running an errand to the store and walking across the parking lot in my running shoes, I knew it wouldn’t be smart in the conditions we’re having today. I’m looking forward to what you’ll be teaching us next week…it’s always educational reading your blog.

3. Amy - December 9, 2007

Great job Joe! The weather this winter is starting out much worse than other years – it is getting us ready for something really cold in January.

4. cg95 - December 10, 2007

You’re an inspiration. I’ve been lax in my running lately and I definately think of the “Beginner” blogs I read and will get my act in gear thanks to you.

5. Joe - December 10, 2007

Thanks guys. I think I’ll be okay with the cold, but that ice is killing me. And we have a load of it on the way tonight.

6. Nancy - December 11, 2007

Thanks so much for running with us. I will add your results to my results post shortly. Sorry I missed your post on Runner’s Lounge. Didn’t realize a Results thread had been started. Great job running. Glad you stayed safe!!

7. Joe - December 11, 2007

Thank you Nancy for creating this thing. It was fun and I hope we can do it again soon.


Leave a Reply

