jump to navigation

Day 205: Let it Snow December 18, 2007

Posted by Joe in 5k.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Tuesday. 3.1 miles in 28:12. That’s good for me, but not my best. We received 5.5″ of snow over the weekend (on top of what came before that) so it’s been a bit discouraging. My long runs have been out. I can manage a local 3.1 mile run easily enough, but running that small loop for 8 miles is too frustrating for me. I just can’t seem to do it mentally. Every time I pass my house I want to stop. I need the long loop to keep my going. So I am running 5k’s until the plows or sun clean up more of the snow and ice on my main course. I think by the weekend we should be good to go.

Running in the cold has been easy enough (so far). Running on ice = terrible. Running on snow is mildly frustrating. On the streets it tends to be a bit slushy and it sticks to my shoes until I hit clean pavement again. That slows me down. The winter is as big of a challenge as starting this whole running thing back in late May. But I persevered through that, and know I will push through these sloppy, cold months and come out a better runner than when they began.

Comments»

1. Topher - December 18, 2007

Funny ad. I was waiting for the truck to dump sand/salt on them. They say that even reduced miles in the winter put you ahead of the game come spring. That’s what I keep telling myself.


Leave a Reply

