jump to navigation

Starting over. January 10, 2008

Posted by Joe in 5k.
trackback

3.1 miles in 29:26. My wife used to run track in high school. She hated it. As I started running this week after a couple weeks off, she said “My coach used to say that two weeks off of running can cut your endurance by half. You can rebuild it pretty quick, but things will be different when you start up.” I told her, “Get out of here!” But uh… yeah this week has been terrible for me, and I doubt that it was the power of suggestion.

I mean, God has blessed us with warm weather, the snow is all gone, and I am very thankful. But I have struggled with pace, endurance and even desire all week. Today was the first day that I started to feel like a runner again. It looks to me like taking a break was a bad idea. It wasn’t really an idea; certainly not a plan.  It just happened, and then I got sick and here I am – starting over. It feels that way. So my runs have been hard and unpleasant – until today. It was a slow run for me, but things began to feel right again. I am giving myself the rest of January to get me back to where I was at the end of ’07. Then in February I hope to step it all up with cross training (something I have just never done) and a plan to get me ready for a half-marathon.

Comments»

1. david - January 10, 2008

The thing I’ve noticed when I’ve taken a bit of a break is that endurance appears to go away, but it doesn’t take much to for it to actually come back. Your body needs rest and it’ll thank you in the long run.

2. kyle. - January 11, 2008

getting past the first few runs after a layoff is the hardest part. from there it will all come back. in high school my track coach used to get pissed that i’d go to mexico with church for spring break and take a week off during season because i’d be gasping for air when i got back. of course, if he’d been a better coach i might have cared about his frustration, but that’s neither here nor there.

3. rafael00 - January 11, 2008

Joe, I wouldn’t beat yourself too much about perceived losses…just get back to it, and know that when you do, you’ll regain the benefits.

I take breaks often (most of December last year actually) and it works for me, because it’s important to not overstress the body. You also don’t want to make running such work that it’s no longer fun.

4. Joe - January 11, 2008

Thanks for the encouragement and caution guys. I really appreciate (and need) it.

5. moorereason - January 12, 2008

I really needed to hear this, Joe. I didn’t run for 4 weeks at the end of 2007, and I’m in the middle of the same struggle right now. Thanks to your post, I’m a little more optimistic that it will all come back to me after a few more runs.

6. Day 132: Back In The Saddle Again « Moore Pressure - January 15, 2008

[…] 132: Back In The Saddle Again Posted on Monday, January 14, 2008 by moorereason Joe Thorn had a post a few days ago describing how it took him a few runs to rebound from a 2-week break in […]


Leave a Reply

