jump to navigation

Whew March 2, 2008

Posted by Joe in personal.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

March 1st. Huh. Meh. Whatever. That’s kind of where I’m at right now.

I started running on the last day of May 2007, and consistently ran through the rest of the year. I dropped 35 pounds and by the end of the year I was running 3.5, 5 and 8 miles regularly. This is a big deal for me since I have never been an athlete, and have been very inactive since 1994. Life was changing, things were different and I felt great! Then we entered a winter that dropped a ton of snow and ice.

Winter has never really bothered me. The cold and snow are just a part of the season I have always enjoyed. But as a new runner I was unprepared for it all. The cold was not a problem. I enjoyed running in the 20’s, and could handle it down to about zero. Below that was uncomfortable (still don’t have all the right clothes). But the amount of snow and ice frequently kept me from running. In Janurary I ran about half as much as I wanted, and February – forget about it. I hardly ran at all. And not running led me to stop caring about what I was eating.

I have gained four pounds back. That probably sounds inconsequential to some, and perhaps it will prove to be, but man it’s discouraging for a guy that has another 10 lbs, oops, make that 14 lbs to go. On top of that there is the general fear that I will stop running altogether. Will I like it when I get back to it? Will I be able to run at all? Of course, these are the questions of a new runner. So today I finally got back out there and ran – and I was surprised that I could do it with relative ease.

Running has been almost entirely an encouraging experience so far, I guess I was bound to find some discouragement eventually. And I shouldn’t complain. No injuries so far. So, it’s March and I am ready to get going. We’ll get a bit more snow, but the worst of it should be over. I am being careful with what I eat and so far (based on today’s experience) – I still love running. Whew.

Comments»

1. David - March 2, 2008

Sometimes the body needs rest, and I hope you find that in a few weeks you’re actually feeling better than before — all thanks to rest. Don’t get discouraged by the four pounds. It’s happened to me every winter for the past few years no matter what I do.

2. Nick - March 3, 2008

I stopped running and lost ten more pounds. So don’t give up on not running just yet. =-P

Maybe when spring comes?

3. Joe - March 3, 2008

Yeah, That plan isn’t working for me Nick. 🙂 Thanks David. I appreciate the words, your experience and your blog.

4. Cameron Moore - March 3, 2008

I’m in the same position — my last run was on Feb. 12th. With the high winds (up to 50mph), erratic temperatures, and flu bug going around the past month, I’ve been hulled up inside the last few weeks. I’ve been having those same thoughts, but I’m optimistic that things will pick up once the temperatures start staying consistently warmer.

5. Running Ragged - March 12, 2008

Spring is almost here…the weather will get nicer and you’ll be back out there. Use those 4 lbs as a motivator to get you back into it. Going by what I have seen over the last year I know you can make it happen!


Leave a Reply

