jump to navigation

Running vs Jogging May 7, 2008

Posted by Joe in thoughts.
Tags: ,
trackback

I’ve been running for almost a year now, and throughout that time I have heard a lot of talk about running vs jogging. Those provocative Pearl Izumi ads created quite a stir and fueld the discussion. I have used this past year to develop both my running and my philosophy of running. Both will remain works in process for the rest of my life, but things are coming together for me. I’ll begin to share some of my thoughts when I cross the 1 yr mark on the last day of the month. Anyway, I like how Miles talked about running vs jogging in the latest issue of Runner’s World.

Dear Miles,
I’m new to the sport. Why do so many runners dislike being called joggers?
—David B., Boone, North Carolina

Jogging implies that you lack passion and commitment, that you’re out there on the road in $130 running shoes simply for show, that you could take the sport or leave it (and often do leave it). Ask any runner, and he or she will tell you that we run with passion, we run to push our limits and to live healthier lives, we run races not because we think we’ll win but to be members of a larger community. Most important, whether we clock six-minute or 12-minute miles, we don’t jog—we run.

Comments»

1. pgsignal - May 7, 2008

Great blog. I often hear a lot of talk about what a runner is and isn’t. Drives me a little crazy. I know a few believe the difference between a runner and a jogger is a name on a race entry. I kind of like that idea but I am not married to it. Seems to me if I am running I don’t have to spend $30 dollars or more on a race entry. Still, I do like races even though I am a back of the pack overweight plodder with dreams of a BQ. Anyway, I liked the Ask Miles quote too. Keep running. And if you like to wax philospohically about running and anything else, check out phedippidations a podcast for runners. I think you will enjoy it.

2. AndrewE - May 8, 2008

I don’t think it really matters. I’m just impressed when I see people out and running.

3. david - May 8, 2008

I’m not offended by the word “jog,” but I really don’t use it either. The word is good though in Scrabble if you get triple word points!

4. Luke - October 11, 2009

Jogging is different from running. You can jog in place but you cannot run in place. Running and walking both aim to cover distance, the former faster than the latter. Jogging, on the other hand, only aims to get your heart rate moving–covering distance is secondary. You can jog in place or with a little forward motion. Of course, you can also run to get your heart a pumpin’. Jogging is when there is more vertical movement than horizontal movement. You can also think of jogging as a bouncing walk.

5. Bob Norvelle - April 8, 2011

Luke is right on, and your joints bear out the importance of this motion. Jogging, being more up and down, puts considerably more strain on the hips, knees and ankles due to almost vertical impact. Running is a forward motion that decrease the vertical impact vectors and challenges your muscles more and joints less.


Leave a Reply

